Benson, Amber: Calliope Reaper-Jones

The series about Calliope Reaper-Jones is urban fantasy. For chick-lit, they’re not half-bad. Calliope is a bit too much of an air-head for my taste, but she has her heart in the right place (at least I hope so). Benson writes well and probably enchants her target group.

The books about Death’s daughter are humorous and lighthearted mysteries with plenty of action and sleuthing.

In Death’s Daughter (2009) we meet a Calliope Reaper-Jones who is trying to suppress the knowledge of her heritage. But when her father is kidnapped, she once again has to return to the family mansion and try to figure out what is going on. To do that, Calliope is going to have to fulfill a quest, one where the competitor is the Devil’s apprentice.

Cat’s Claw (2010) continues where Death’s Daughter left off. She is discovering that trying to keep the family business running is a handful. When she has to pay her debt to Cerberus, Calliope finds herself with her hands full.

Serpent’s Storm (2011) has us back in New York where Calliope is once again trying to fit in with the rest of the world. But it doesn’t matter that Calliope is trying to stay away. Someone still wants to kill her and Calliope is going to have to do her best to stay ahead of the game.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s